Conseil de Fondation 2014

Promoting young contemporary artistic work in Switzerland

Nestlé S.A.’s long commitment to the arts was specifically recognized in 1991 via the creation of the Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art to mark the company’s 125th anniversary. The Foundation’s mission is to promote the creation of contemporary artistic work in Switzerland. Venturing into an arena that is different yet complementary to that of the founding company, being audacious, revealing potential, encouraging new approaches and striving for excellence: these exciting challenges are just as relevant today as they were at the Foundation’s outset.

Working closely with artists and other cultural institutions, the Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art promotes the following principles and values to accomplish its goals and objectives:

  • Encourage emerging artists while allowing established artists and institutions to pursue their work in appropriate conditions.
  • Establish a dialogue between artists and art institutions and provide project support.
  • Develop alternative forms of support that will provide ‘added value’.
  • Collaborate with other public and private entities and work with commitment, professionalism and transparency.

Board of Trustees of the Foundation

The Board of Trustees consists of personalities from the world of art and culture, all experts in their field. They are elected for a three-year-term, which is twice renewable.

Chairman of the Board

Olivier Kaeser, Paris (France)
Expert for the Performing Arts (French-speaking Switzerland)

Members of the Board

Rosmarie Lang Richner, Bern
Strategic Consultant

Béatrice Zawodnik, Geneva
Expert for Music and Director of Lausanne site of the HEMU - Haute Ecole de Musique

David Frick, Vevey
Representative of the parent company and member of the Executive Board of Nestlé S.A.

Tobias Brenk, Basel
Expert for the Performing Arts (German-speaking Switzerland), Director of the Theaterfestival Basel, 2018 Edition

Daniel Baumann, Basel and Zurich
Expert for the Visual Arts and Director of the Kunsthalle Zürich

Former Presidents

Paul R. Jolles, Bern (1991 - 1994)
Jacqueline Burckhardt, Zürich (1995 - 1997)
Cäsar Menz, Geneva (1998 - 2002)
Philip Ursprung, Zürich (2003 – 2014)

Headquarters and General Secretariat

General Secretary

Béatrice Demenet-Gugelmann, Lausanne